

AUBER Honorary Member • Fellow of AUBER • R. Thayne Robson Award

NOMINATION DEADLINE: AUGUST 1, 2023

General Guidelines

All nominations for these awards require either a letter or email specifically addressing the qualifications of the nominee. *Please refer to the list of criteria on page 2* when writing a nomination letter for any of the following awards.

Note: No self-nominations will be accepted for AUBER commendation awards.

Honorary Membership

Nominations for *Honorary Members* should be addressed to the Membership Committee Chair:

Jennifer Green, Director
Center for Economic Development and Business Research
Jacksonville State University
ingreen@isu.edu • 256-782-5796

Fellow of AUBER Award & R. Thayne Robson Award

Nominations for the *Fellow of AUBER Award* and the *R. Thayne Robson Award* should be addressed to the Commendations Committee Chair:

Michael Hicks, Director
Center for Business and Economic Research
Miller College of Business, Ball State University
mhicks@bsu.edu • 765-285-5926

Regarding nominations for any commendation: Multiple letters of support for a given nominee are welcomed and encouraged. A list of criteria for each award is described on page 2.

AUBER Commendation Awards Criteria

Honorary Membership

Nominations for honorary membership should be directed to the Membership Committee Chair. The Committee shall present suitable candidates to the Board of Directors for review and approval.

A new honorary member shall receive an individual lifetime membership, which traditionally is presented at the AUBER Fall Conference. Honorary members shall pay no annual dues. They are invited to all AUBER events and may serve on committees. Honorary members are not eligible to vote, nor may they hold an elected office in the organization.

New honorary members may be selected each year.

Fellow of AUBER Award

The Fellow of AUBER Award recognizes longtime, outstanding members of the Association. One recipient may be selected per year. Nominees should meet, or substantially meet, the following criteria:

- Be an active or retired member of AUBER.
- Maintained membership for at least 12 years.
- Held the **role** of center director or equivalent at a host institution.
- Served in a leadership capacity on the AUBER Board of Directors.
- Provided significant leadership and **substantial service** to AUBER. This may include the following:
 - Served as a committee chair.
 - Frequent conference session organizer and participant.
 - Performed key role as conference host or program chair.
 - o Acted as AUBER's liaison in partnerships with external organizations.

One recipient may be selected each year.

R. Thayne Robson Award

The R. Thayne Robson Award is the highest honor an individual in AUBER may receive. It is named to honor the memory of the late R. Thayne Robson, a past president and longtime supporter of AUBER.

Criteria for this award embody the spirit of a great friend and mentor to many in the organization. Nominees should meet the following criteria:

- Be an active or retired member of AUBER.
- Maintained membership for at least 15 years.
- Held the **role** of center director or equivalent at a host institution.
- Served in a leadership capacity on the AUBER Board of Directors.
- Provided longtime commitment and substantial service to AUBER.
- Be an economic and public policy leader in their state.

One recipient may be selected every other year, traditionally in odd-numbered years.